Babysitting Body

Before I start, let me paint you a picture of what I am doing as I type this:

I am laying on a chaise, babysitting, with a fifteen month old girl snoozing in luxury on my stomach. My neck is bent uncomfortably to accommodate the angle of recline she prefers. I have to pee SO bad, but I can’t. I am typing this blog post over her shoulder on my phone. Got that image? Okay.

You may not know this, but the Superhero of Imperfection has a superpower. It’s true- I can transform at will. Not my will, but children’s wills. You know that movie with the cars that turn into big, crime fighting, butt kicking robots when they feel like it? Yeah this isn’t cool like that- sorry. It is cool in another way though.

If you have kids or babysit, you know about our bodies’ ability to turn into whatever tool the small person desires or needs. Here are some
fun transformations children have demanded of my body:

The Instant Chair- My lap has the ability to become a customized chair for a small human on request. Some of its favorites are the cross legged shoe tying platform, the cozy book nook, the one knee up stool, and the 90 degree angle lazyboy.

The Jungle Gym- This transformation involves the entire body becoming climbable, swingable, and slidable.

The Pillow- When I was four and my sister was born, I asked my dad this question “Dad, if mommies have boobies so they can feed the baby, why do daddies have boobies?” His response was simple- to be a pillow. Shout out to all the mommies who are able to transform their bosom into a fully operating infant kitchen, but for now I am happy providing just a pillow!

The Noise Maker- I never knew what strange noises my mouth was able to make until I tried to make babies laugh. Their desire for entertainment insists that we sing, babble, scream, hum, and shhhhh to their hearts’ content.

The Shelf- I once thought God graced me with hips for aesthetic purposes. I was wrong. They are little shelves to sit babies on so my arms don’t have to work so hard.

The Kleenex- When snotty noses abound, you do what you gotta do.

If you have children or take care of them, I’d love to hear any transformations your favorite little humans insist on!

20130320-183512.jpg

4 thoughts on “Babysitting Body

    • Sure! I would love that. I am still learning all the ins and outs of blogging, but as long as you include a link back to my blog that would be great. Thanks for you interest and I am so glad you enjoyed šŸ™‚

  1. Seriously. Who needs yoga when little ones are around? My body contorts in ways I never knew possible just to accommodate their every need. This is especially fun when both boys are awake and/or sick in the middle of the night. Great post!

Leave a Reply

