Organic Face

I’ve finally lost count of how many days I have been Pooless. I could look at a calendar to figure it out, but I stopped caring once I hit the two week mark and decided I was in this for the long haul. So there.

An unexpected problem arose though, and I want to share that with you now.
Once you become aware of all the unnecessary chemicals you are/were putting in your hair, you start caring about unnecessary chemicals you put other places.

And boy, I was not planning on caring that much! Heck, the name of this blog is halfanaturalist, not 100% a naturalist!

So anyways, my face in particular became a concern because, well, faces are important. I have never been too particular about the brand of facewash I use. I mean, I am a college student living at home and working part time. I don’t have the kind of money to be picky about facewash. Also,I do not have the time or patience to do all those steps like cleanse, moisturize, exfoliate, blah blah. I use one product while I am already in the shower, and that’s about all the lovin’ my face gets.

So chemicals. I stopped wanting them on my face. And the whole pooless endeavor made me feel all (falsely) confident about my ability to mix up some personal care products at home. I got a little cocky, I am afraid to admit, and I tried to make my own recipe for a facewash. Failure.

My first attempt was a honey based wash. And for the sake of making myself feel better, I will now justify my ingredient choices:

-Honey for its antibacterial qualities
-Water because I am lazy
-Baby oil to moisturize
-Lemongrass as an astringent
-Sugar in the raw to exfoliate

Sounds like a good facewash huh? That’s what I thought! I was wrong. When I put that crap on my face it burnt so bad! I think it was the lemongrass. Anyways, I scrapped that recipe right away and gave up on the facewash for a week or so. My face needed a break. Poor Face.

When I got the courage to try again, I asked google for help. I was directed here. The recipe seemed good to me (how am I supposed to know what a good facewash recipe looks like?), so I got my Amazon Prime on. I ordered all the ingredients I didn’t already have, and when they got delivered (two days later) I went right to work!

20130325-131836.jpg

This was a chamomile based recipe, and I LOVE tea. That was the main reason I was attracted to this particular recipe. Even though I love tea, I had never tried chamomile! Can you believe that? It’s so beautiful!

20130325-132405.jpg

I have been using my new facewash for two days now! I wanted to make sure it wasn’t a dud before I blogged about it. I love it! It smells so good. I use a little lavender essential oil for scent, and it’s just perfect! I made a few extra batches to give some of my favorite ladies for Easter. Also, I had a ton of extra chamomile tea, and I have become obsessed with it.

And my face lived happily ever after. The end.

4 thoughts on “Organic Face

Leave a Reply

