Call Me A Heretic

Okay, so I just want to go ahead and say that I get a little exhausted watching the debate between the “Christians” and the “People Who Support Gay Marriage.” First of all, if this is a Venn Diagram, I am right smack dab in that little overlapping spot. And I am not right smack dab in that little overlapping spot because I am confused, or can’t make my mind up. I have a very rational, non emotionally provoking, Bible-backed-up (if you care about that part, if not my argument still holds true) view. I’m no theologian or political expert, but I do think on a regular basis. Here, I’ll share it:

Reason #1) The Rational Secular One

Gay Marriage should not be classified as a religious debate. Marriage, in the religious sense, is a promise to God to be true to each other and love each other and blah blah blah all the days of life here on earth (or something to that effect anyways.) Marriage in the POLITICAL sense has nothing to do with promising to God. (Sorry God. I love you and all, but it doesn’t.) The political meaning of marriage has to do with rights. Rights to each other’s assets, rights to fill out taxes a certain way, rights to make decisions for one another when one is sick and unable to speak for him/herself. Have you ever wondered why even though heterosexual couples stand up in a church (or other wedding venue) and make these sacred promises to each other, it’s not legal until they sign that paper in front of the person with the power? Because these are TWO DIFFERENT PROMISES happening on the same day! (Or sometimes different days. I have known some people to knock out the paper signing ahead of time.)

So- if your argument against Gay Marriage is that sodomy is abominable in God’s eyes (which I would argue also, but I’ll save that for another day), then cool.

The national debate is not to make sodomy legal. The national debate is not to make loving someone of the same sex legal. People are going to do that whether we say it’s legal or not! The debate is about giving these people equal rights under the law. It’s not telling them that we approve of their promise to God or each other. It’s telling them they can file taxes jointly. Is that REALLY so much to ask?

Reason #2) Separation of Church and State

This one seems so obvious I wasn’t even sure if I should include it, but I will because some people can’t get this through their brains. If your reason for not supporting Gay Marriage is a religious one (which I can’t really think of another kind of reason not to support equal rights..) then- sorry.

You don’t have a valid reason.

That might be a valid reason not to marry people in your particular church, but it’s not gonna fly in the United States Of America unless you are able to change this democracy into the Theocratic Nation Of Fundamentalist Christiandom. Until then, keep screaming til you’re blue in the face.

Reason #3) The Bible Backed One

Like I said in my opening statement, I am a Christian. I am familiar with the Bible. I have read a good portion of it, as a matter of fact. I’m gonna quote it here for a second and I hope that’s okay. I’m going somewhere with this.

Leviticus 18:22 “You shall not lie with a man as with a woman. It is an abomination.”

Don’t drop your jaw yet. This verse that is often pulled out of verse-quoting-gay-marriage opposers’ pockets to show God’s displeasure with the act, is just one in a LONG list of things that make God unhappy in Leviticus. Here’s another little excerpt:

Leviticus 19:19“You shall keep my statutes. You shall not let your cattle breed with a different kind. You shall not sow your field with two kinds of seed, nor shall you wear a garment of cloth made of two kinds of material.”

Is it just me or do you usually plant your tomatoes in the same garden you plant your cucumbers? Is it just me or is your shirt made of cotton polyester blend? Not to mention my dog (I’m substituting dog as my livestock since I don’t have cattle) is a mix between a bichon frise, poodle, and some other breed I don’t even know of!

Guilty as charged!

And you’re thinking, okay but one is worse than the other right? Wrong. The bible clearly states that man guilty of breaking one commandment is guilty of them all. So I am guilty of sodomy according to Leviticus! Oops!

But here’s the catch. If you are Christian (which many of you aren’t, so you can just focus on reasons 1&2), you believe Jesus died for our sins and began the new covenant. The covenant that says (paraphrasing here) ‘Hey! I know you guys are not perfect. I sent my son down there and he told me how flipping hard it is! He loved you though. We love you so much even though you screw up sometimes. Just love Me back. Love your fellow humans too. That’s what’s really important.’

Phew!
I can relax now because I sure don’t wanna be hell damned just because I had steak medium rare last week (See Leviticus 19:26).

So anyways, if you made it all the way to the end of this argument and still disagree- go ahead and call me a heretic.

6 thoughts on “Call Me A Heretic

  1. The evangelical church has lost a lot of ground in the U.S. because they have made the gay marriage debate a major central tenant in their religious platform.

    Evangelicals also do not show very much sensitivity in the language and terminology they use when talking about the subject. Take for instance the use of the term ‘sodomy’, evangelicals tend to use the term in a slanderous sense as though it encapsulates the behavior of the gay individual. But let’s be honest; a massive percentage of straight men in America want to have anal sex with their girlfrfriends/wives; and anal sex is the definition of sodomy. Not to mention the fact that the average gay woman most likely is not necessarily into anal sex.

    Thus, when evangelicals try to associate the term sodomy with homosexuality they come of as being insensitive and not cognizant of the sexual mores of the 21st century young adult.

    Until the evangelicals learn how to practice and demonstrate grace toward non-evangelicals I suspect they will continue to be largely irrelevant when it comes to shaping the culture.

  2. you know you gotta be real confident to compare wearing clothes to havin sex….one we do by default, the other involves quite some investment of physical n emotional strength. So that leviticus verse needs some overhaul. Other than that, ur argument is on point, church n state r after very different agendas wen it comes 2 marriage.
    I was once a christian, now im just an afrikan who appreciates difference n diversity. at the end of the day, if people r loving each other instead of fighting, im cool with that (wetha they straight or gay it really dont mattah…love shud be the constant).

    cool post. Keep them comin’.

Leave a Reply

