My Gym Whim

So for over a year now, my boyfriend (hence force referred to as Ginger), has been asking me to go to the gym with him. My response has very consistently and confidently been “No.”

Why? Here was my rationale-
The gym is a scary place!
There are fit people.
People wear tight workout clothes.
Almost EVERYONE is stronger than me.
I look silly working out.
I am scared of being with all those people.
They might LOOK at me!

And why do you want me to go to the gym anyways, huh? I’m not fat. I’m not in a competitive sport that requires my strength for success. I’m 5’4 and 115lbs, just happy living a fairly active lifestyle and staying home when you take your daily gym trips.

He INSISTED I would like the gym and I should join him, but for over a year I blew it off. Obviously he didn’t know the kind of things I enjoy!

Or maybe he does.

So about a week ago, I finally decided I would go.

Once.

Just to make him happy, and to be able to say: “I tried it. I hate it. I’m not going again. Leave me alone.”

I started stressing big time about what I would wear. I asked everyone under the son for gym outfit tips. I wanted to look cute, but not too revealing. I wanted to fit in as well. I settled on some leggings I already had and I bought a workout tank top. I think I had more anxiety and effort into that outfit than I did for my senior prom.

We met Ginger’s best friend who works at the gym (henceforth referred to as Protein) and Protein’s friend (henceforth referred to as Smiles) in the parking lot. I was a nervous wreck! They were all very sweet and assured me it would be fine.

And guess what?

It was.

I actually enjoyed myself! None of the things I had been worried about turned out to be worth my worry. My friends I was with were so helpful and made me feel welcomed into their workout group. I had been afraid I would be a burden, but they really made me feel at ease.

So we went back a couple days later. And again a couple days later. (All three times I was a guest.) Yesterday, guess what the Superhero of Imperfection did?

Joined the gym.

It’s true! I really have learned to enjoy it. Having people to workout with makes me more motivated to go. And even though I have had good body image perception all along, I really feel like I am a little more comfortable in my own skin- not because I am skinnier or more muscular, (I’ve only been three times, remember?) but just because I am doing something for my body, and it’s loving me back for it.

I’m about to get a little personal, but this is pretty cool. Did you know that working out can help reduce or even eliminate the symptoms of PMS??? Yeah me neither! I felt way too good for what my calendar said I was supposed to be feeling like, so I looked it up and see what I found? Here (It’s number 3 on the list.) (I know that source is not the most reliable ever, but I also read similar ideas here) And if those aren’t enough, just let me tell you from first hand experience- I am a believer.

So I still kinda suck at working out, but I am trying! I feel more confident, less stressed, more bonded to my workout buddies, and I have less womanly annoyances. I should have done this a long time ago!

20130405-082511.jpg

4 thoughts on “My Gym Whim

Leave a Reply

